2016 Archive of Documentary Arts Collection Award Winners

Photographs from each of the ADA Collection Awardwinner's works

Photographs from the ADA Collection Award winners. Clockwise from top left, photographs by Debi Cornwall, Jay Turner Frey Seawell, Adam Reynolds, Paccarik Orue, and Jeanine Michna-Bales.

Congratulations are in order for the winners of the Archive of Documentary Arts’ ADA Collection Awards. The ADA Collection Awards were established to diversify the ADA’s collection in order to better reflect the multitude of viewpoints and communities from which work is being made in the documentary arts today and will be offered annually.

The following photographers received an honorarium of $4500 to print a body of work which will be added to the permanent collection of the Archive of Documentary Arts and available for use by students, faculty, and independent researchers in Duke University’s David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library.

Congratulations to Debi Cornwall, winner of the Award for Women Documentarians, for her collective work on Guantanamo Bay; Paccarik Orue, winner of the Award for Documentarians of Color, for the series El Muqui; Adam Reynolds, winner of the Award for Emerging Documentarian, for the series Architecture of an Existential Threat; Jay Turner Frey Seawell, winner of the Award for Innovation in the Documentary Arts, for the series National Trust & The Mall; and Jeanine Michna-Bales, winner of the Award for Documentarians of The American South, for the series From Darkness to Light: Seeking Freedom on the Underground Railroad.

Read more about the Archive of Documentary Arts and the ADA Collection Awards on the ADA’s website.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply