Announcing the Winners of the 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo Awards

In recognition of mutual interests in documentary and fine art photography, Daylight Magazine and the Center for Documentary Studies started an international competition in 2010, the Daylight/CDS Photo Awards, to honor and promote talented and committed photographers, both emerging and established.

2011 Guest Jurors: Anthony Bannon, director, George Eastman House; Darren Ching, owner, Klompching Gallery, and creative director, Photo District News; Stacey D. Clarkson, art director, Harper’s Magazine; Whitney Johnson, picture editor, The New Yorker; Joel Sternfeld*, photographer; Sasha Wolf, owner, Sasha Wolf Gallery

with Taj Forer and Michael Itkoff, editors, Daylight Magazine , and Alexa Dilworth, publishing director, and Courtney Reid-Eaton, exhibitions director, Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University

The Center for Documentary Studies and Daylight Magazine are proud to present the work of these gifted photographers:


First Prize Winner

Tamas Dezso
Here, Anywhere

Image above: From Here, Anywhere. Photograph by Tamas Dezso, 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo Awards Project Prize winner.

Juror Picks

John Cyr (Anthony Bannon)

Tamas Dezso (Darren Ching and Sasha Wolf)

Sebastian Liste (Whitney Johnson)

Kris Vervaeke (Stacey Clarkson)


First Prize Winner

David Pace
Friday Night

Image above: From Friday Night. Photograph by David Pace, 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo Awards Work-in-Process Prize winner.

Juror Picks

James Dodd (Anthony Bannon)

Baldomero Fernandez (Sasha Wolf)

Lydia Goldblatt (Darren Ching)

Shane Lavalette (Whitney Johnson)

Lorenzo Martelli (Stacey Clarkson)

* Note: Joel Sternfeld reviewed and ranked all entries in both categories but elected not to make juror picks.


Larry Louie

Christian Lutz

Rania Matar

Bill McDowell

Landon Nordeman

Emily Schiffer

Anna Skladmann

Magdalena Sole

Daniel Traub

Rick Wright


Noah Greenberg

Eirik Johnson

Cesar Lechowick

Sebastian Liste

Dina Litovsky

Larry Louie

Stacy Kranitz

Derek Shapton

Emily Schiffer

Jonathan Taggart

Further details about the resulting exhibition and web presentations will be announced shortly.

More information about the Daylight/CDS Photo Awards

Be Sociable, Share!

    2 Responses to “Announcing the Winners of the 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo Awards”

    1. […] 2: which is better for professional photographers?Awards, Grants, and Competitionsphoto: Tamas DezsoWinners of the 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo AwardsBJP International Photography Award People’s Choice : Summershow 2011multiMedia – […]

    2. Chris says:

      John Wall blogs about the winners of 2011 Daylight/CDS Photo Awards at

    Leave a Reply