CDS/Honickman First Book Prize in Photography Winner Benjamin Lowy Receives 2012 ICP Infinity Award

2010 First Book Prize winner Benjamin Lowy has won the prestigious 2012 ICP Infinity Award in photojournalism. ICP’s Infinity Awards were inaugurated in 1985 to bring public attention to outstanding achievements in photography by honoring individuals with distinguished careers in the field and by identifying future luminaries. Founded in 1974, the International Center of Photography  is a museum and school dedicated to the understanding and appreciation of photography, one of the preeminent institutions of its type in the world.

Lowy was chosen as the winner of the 2010 CDS/Honickman First Book Prize in Photography by judge William Eggleston. The Center for Documentary Studies and The Honickman Foundation co-sponsor this biennial prize, open to American photographers of any age who have never published a book-length work. The prize honors work that is visually compelling, that bears witness, and that has integrity of purpose.

Winners of the prize receive a grant of $3,000, publication of a book of photography, and inclusion in a website devoted to presenting the work of the prizewinners. The winner will also be given a solo exhibit at the Center for Documentary Studies and the photographs will then be placed in the Archive of Documentary Arts in Duke University’s Rubenstein Library. Lowy’s book, Iraq | Perspectives, was published in November 2011 by CDS Books and Duke University Press.

Deborah Willis is the judge of the sixth biennial CDS/Honickman First Book Prize in Photography competition.

Submissions will be accepted from June 15 to September 15, 2012.

Full competition guidelines will be available on the website February 15, 2012.



Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply